Exposing the “Born Again American” movement

May 22, 2009

I recently received an email asking me what I thought about something called the “Born Again American” movement.  This movement can be found at www.bornagainamerican.com and includes a very catchy song, the words of which can be found here.  Let’s take a moment to read them:

 

Just a workin’ man without a job
It got shipped off to China via Washington, D.C.
And I know I’m nothin’ special, there are plenty more like me

 

Just the same
I thought I knew the rules of the game

I stood up for this country that I love
I came back from the desert to a wife and kids to feed
I’m not sayin’ Uncle Sam should give me what I need

My offer stands
I’ll pull my weight you give me half a chance

 

I went up to a congressman and said to him “you know
Our government is letting people down”
He said he’d need a lot of help to buck the status-quo
I said there was a bunch of us around

 

I’m a Born Again American, conceived in Liberty
My Bible and the Bill of Rights, my creed’s equality
I’m a Born Again American, my country ‘tis of me
And everyone who shares the dream from sea to shining sea

 

My brother’s welding chassis at the plant
He’s earning what our granddad did in 1948
While CEOs count bonuses behind the castle gates
How can they see
When all they care about’s the do re mi

It’s getting where there’s nowhere left to turn


Not since the crash of twenty-nine have things been so unfair
So many of our citizens are living in despair
The time has come
To reaffirm that hope’s not just for some

 

The promise of America’s surrendering to greed

The rule is just look out for number one
But brace yourself ‘cause some of us have sown a different seed
A harvest of the spirit has begun

 

I’m a Born Again American conceived in liberty

My Bible and The Bill Of Rights
My creed’s equality
A Born Again American, my country ‘tis of me
And everyone who shares the dream from sea to shining sea

 

It’s clear my country’s soul is on the line
She’s hungering for something that she lost along the way
The principle the framers called upon us to obey

That in this land

The people’s will must have the upper hand

I felt the calling once before and took a sacred vow

And faithful to that vow I have remained
I hear the calling once again, my country needs me now
And to her cause I have been re-ordained

 

I’m a Born Again American conceived in liberty
My Bible and the Bill Of Rights, all people living free
A Born Again American, my country ‘tis of me
And everyone who shares the dream
From sea to shining sea
And everyone who shares the dream
From sea to shining sea
A M E R I C A

 

The website includes visual and written references to the Constitution and Bill of Rights and would appear to be intriguing to Patriots everywhere, right?

 

WRONG.

 

This is what I found:

 

Bornagainamerican.org is part of the umbrella group DeclareYourself  . This was obtained from the “About Us” tab on Bornagainamerican’s website.

 

DeclareYourself is in turn part of the umbrella group change.org . This was obtained from the “About Us” tab on DeclareYourself’s website.

 

The main causes promoted by Change.org include universal healthcare, gay rights, ending homelessness, animal rights and global warming, among others.  However, they also have much to say on the 2nd Amendment: the fundamental human right as enshrined in the Bill of Rights (a document Declareyourself.com claims to stand for).

 

Here are a few items from change.org as it relates to 2A issues:

 

#1 Mandatory criminal background checks for all gun sales

 

#2 Require responsible and safe gun storage for all firearms unless they are in the owner’s direct control

 

#3 Allow Law Enforcement to maintain and share critical “crime-gun” trace data

 

#4 Restore and improve the Federal Ban on Assault Weapons

 

#5 Repeal the Federal law giving Immunity to the gun industry

 

#6 Enact National Consumer Product Safety Commission regulations for firearms

 

#7 Create incentives for the gun industry to make “personalized guns”

 

Source: http://criminaljustice.change.org/blog/view/seven_ways_obama_can_reduce_gun_violence

 

Here’s another one:

 

We can impose strict restrictions on gun ownership and carrying without taking away a right. Background checks and safety classes aren’t too much to ask.  Source  

Another: I support strict gun control because our addiction to guns has had two centuries to work and it has not succeeded in making us safer. Each year, more than a half million legal guns are stolen. Putting more legal guns in circulation would only cause this number to rise. More guns means more gun suicides, more accidents. And the proposition that criminals will think twice before committing a crime because the victim might have a gun is preposterous. If that were the case, they would have already stopped committing crimes.

Source  

Another: For starters, we need to acknowledge the true cost of gun ownership in the country, and make sure gun owners foot their share of the bill. Car owners have to have insurance to pay for the dangers of driving. Why shouldn’t gun owners have to carry insurance in case their guns are used for violence?

Source  

Another: Say no to loaded guns in National Parks!

Source

Moral of this story?

 

Be very careful who you support among the tangled webs of those who would rob you of your humanity and hand it over to the state or collective, to do with as they wish.

 

There are many groups out there masquerading as Constitution-based, “take-back-your-rights” organizations.  Many of them are cover groups for leftist and/or statist activist groups.

 

Patriots beware.

 

9 Responses to “Exposing the “Born Again American” movement”

  1. Erika Says:

    Born Again American is a new initiative put forth by Declare Yourself.

    Declare Yourself is national, nonpartisan, nonprofit youth voter registration organization dedicated to making sure every American is registered to vote.

    Change.org is not an umbrella organization for Declare Yourself – in fact, it is a completely different organization. Change.org is an advocacy website that encourages people to organize around issues that matter to them.

    Declare Yourself does not advocate any politician or policy stance. They have traveled across the nation to register voters and believe that every American should be registered and eligible to vote regardless of political party or beliefs!


  2. Thank you, Erika, for your reply. However, your response is disingenuous at best.

    I provided the links that trace the Born Again American movement directly back to Change.org.

    This organization is masquerading as a Constitutional, true-American organization. In reality, it is a left wing front-group. “Voter registration” is and has always been code for the left.

    If I am incorrect, prove it.

    Let’s see the Born Again American movement take a stand on their website passionately defending the 2nd Amendment to the United States Constitution.

    I assume you work with or for this organization. Take my challenge.


  3. […] response to my recent post regarding the disingenuous “Born Again American” movement , I received this response from “Erika”, who I presume is Erika Johansson, program coordinator […]


  4. Here’s a nice link from Barack Obama’s website. Born Again American founder Norman Lear:

    http://my.barackobama.com/page/community/post/darrelludelhoven/gGx2Q8/commentary

  5. byron Says:

    i don’t know about the gun deal or what ever i think someone should say something about whats going on in this country its more than about gays getting married gangs,email ripoffs and bullshit in the seventys protest took place to not let gas and big business and goverment rip us off like this bank stockmarkets raising gas 10 cents over night thats wrong paying for gas the same gas price and make 10 cents more and say awww oh well its gonna rain today and it might flood so we got raise bullshit. we need a bornagain movement to get god back in our lifes or you can shoot yourself with that gun you can’t eat that gun

  6. barbedwiresmile Says:

    Byron, you are half right: we need a ‘born again’ movement to get this country back on track. My post merely illustrates that THIS is not the one we need.

    As for guns: No, I cannot eat them. But they stock my freezer with meat each fall. Their private ownership is among the philosophical foundations of this great nation. And they serve as the only protection against the state obtaining a monopoly on force.

    I encourage you to rethink your position on guns and expand your understanding of this marvelous tool – the tool that set men free and allowed them ownership of their own destinies independent of the war lord, the tribe, or the state.

    Granted, the gun is an undervalued tool in our urbane, plastic, suburbanized society. But this will not always be the case. As we lose sight of our heritage and the philosophical foundations of our independence, the state will be there to fill the void. We see the encroachments of the state all around us. And while the gun is not the only tool one will need to preserve his dignity and independence, it is among the most important.

    Finally, beware those who would take this tool of independence away from you. Question their motives and think deeply on what twisted philosophy would seek to deprive you of this tool while handing a monopoly on force to the state or collective.

  7. Carole Says:

    Just found this website. I’m in total agreement with barbedwiresmile. I was referred to the BornAmerican website by a coworker who voted for Obama (first red flag). When I saw Keith Carradine, a self-proclaimed liberal, (second red flag) and then found that Norman Lear was behind the movement (third red flag), I investigated their beliefs. Yup, all three flags were justified. Liberal as they come. What is sad is that many will contribute to this “cause” thinking it is a conservative, pro-American website. Not so.

  8. ec Says:

    Try this out. Straightforward and direct!
    No BS etc. An American who sees what is happening and will let ego and past apolitical affiliations behind – they have all betrayed us!

  9. Michael Says:

    Barb, You are truly an educated, objective person, whome not only has Her facts correct, but You articulate it quite well.
    I thank You for Your effort and time not only informing us on ‘Bornagainamerika’, but standing up for the 2nd Amendment.
    You’re a great Gal in my book. Michael.


Leave a Reply

